Hart County Board of Commissioners SPLOST III Work Session

June 28, 2005

5:00 p.m.


The Hart County Board of Commissioners met June 28, 2005 at 5:00 p.m. in the Hart County Administrative & Emergency Services Center to discuss SPLOST III for an official meeting with the Municipalities as required by 48-8-111.  Proper notification as required by 48-8-111 was sent to the mayors of the municipalities. 


Chairman RC Oglesby presided with Commissioners Daniel Reyen, Joey Dorsey, and Gary Mize in attendance (Commissioner Carter was absent).  Also attending was Phil Hertz, Hartwell City manager.


County Administrator Jon Caime explained that 48-8-111 required that an official meeting with the municipalities be made available and that this was the purpose of the meeting.  He further explained that the Hart County Board of Commissioners has received a request from Royston for $99,000, Bowersville for $33,000 and Canon for $15,000. He stated that the BOC has already approved the $99,000 and $33,000 allocations to come from the County’s SPLOST III proceeds.  He also explained that a previous meeting with the City of Hartwell the BOC offered to enter into an intergovernmental agreement with the City of Hartwell whereby Hartwell will receive 14.4% of the SPLOST III proceeds. 


Commissioner Dorsey made a motion to allocate $15,000 of the County’s SPLOST III proceeds to the City of Canon.  Commissioner Reyen seconded the motion. Motion passed 4-0.


During Public Comment Gwen Fisher requested the BOC consider allocating $10,000 to a monument at the Hart County Training School. The BOC agreed to consider in-kind services such as grading at a later date.


With no further action the meeting adjourned.





R C Oglesby, Chairman                                                                        Lawana Kahn, County Clerk