Hart County Board of Commissioners SPLOST III & Budget Work Session

July 18, 2005

5:30 p.m.


The Hart County Board of Commissioners met July 18, 2005 at 5:30 p.m. in the Hart County Administrative & Emergency Services Center to discuss SPLOST III with the City of Hartwell.  Following  this the BOC met to discuss the FY06 budget. 


Chairman RC Oglesby presided with Commissioners Daniel Reyen, Joey Dorsey, Ricky Carter, and Gary Mize in attendance.  Also attending was representatives of the city of Hartwell Council, Matt Beasley, Sarah Mayfield, George Rooks, and David Little.


Chairman Oglesby made a motion to allocate $120,000 of the County’s road paving money to resurface pave roads inside the City limits of Hartwell.  The money will come from County SPLOST III road allocation for Districts #1 & #3.  The City of Hartwell will be responsible for patching the roads, and any other costs associated with getting the roads ready for paving including any contractor penalty charged to the County if the City fails to have the roads ready in time for the Contractor.  Commissioner Reyen seconded the motion.  Vote was 5-0.


County Administrator Jon Caime explained to the City of Hartwell representatives that the Hart County Board of Commissioners has taken a prior action to vote for a 5 year SPLOST on Tuesday July 26, 2005 unless the City of Hartwell provides a written acceptance of the terms of the intergovernmental agreement presented at a work session on June 16, 2005 as amended with today’s action with such response received no later than July 25, 2005.


With no further action the Hart County Board of Commissioners began a work session to discuss the FY06 budget.


Meeting Adjourned at 8:00 pm.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------            ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

R C Oglesby, Chairman                                                                        Lawana Kahn, County Clerk